The OneFamily Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is made up of individuals who bring passion, experience and leadership to our organisation.

The Board of Directors set the strategic direction of the group and guide it in the interests of all of our members, their main aims being to:

  • provide entrepreneurial leadership with careful, prudent and effective frameworks that assess and control risk
  • set the strategic aims for OneFamily to ensure we have the right people and financial resources to achieve our goals
  • set our values and standards to meet our obligations to our members.

Full details of the Board of Directors can be found below. The Terms of Reference for the sub-committees of the Board can also be found on this page.

Non-executive directors

Christina McCombChristina McComb

Christina is the Chairman of OneFamily and was previously Chair of Engage Mutual Assurance.

Christina joined the Engage Mutual Assurance Board in May 2005 and was appointed Chairman in April 2014. Prior to this she was Vice Chairman from 2009. Christina has wide ranging experience of advising and investing in smaller companies, having spent 14 years at leading venture capital group, 3i Group plc.

Christina is currently Senior Independent Director of the British Business Bank, Senior Independent Director at Standard Life European Private Equity Trust plc and a non-executive director of Baronsmead VCT2 plc and Nexeon Limited.

Christina is the Chairman of the Nominations Committee and a member of the Investment and Product Committee.

Ian BuckleyIan Buckley
Vice Chairman and Senior Independent Director

Ian joined Family Investments in 2009 and was appointed Vice Chairman and Senior Independent Director of OneFamily in 2016.

Ian is a consultant to the Rathbones Trust Company, having previously served as a Special Adviser to Rathbone Brothers Plc, and a director and a member of the Group Executive Committee for 11 years. Prior to this, he was Chief Executive of Smith & Williamson from 1985 to 1995. He was subsequently Chief Executive of EFG Private Bank Limited and in February 2000 set up Tenon Group Plc. Ian is also Chairman of Vision Independent Financial Planning and a non-executive director of Miller Insurance Services LLP.

Ian is the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Risk, With Profits, Investment and Product and Nominations Committees.

Nigel MastersNigel Masters
Non-Executive Director

Nigel is a non-executive director, having previously served on the Engage Mutual Assurance Board.

Nigel joined the Engage Mutual Assurance Board in June 2012 as a non-executive director. He is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries with over 35 years’ experience in financial services.

Nigel has held a number of senior actuarial positions, including Group Chief Life Actuary for Zurich Financial Services and partner in the actuarial consulting practice at PricewaterhouseCoopers. Previously President of the UK actuarial profession, he is currently a non-executive director of Wesleyan Assurance Society and a non-executive director of JP Morgan Life.

Nigel is Chairman of the Risk and With Profits Committees, and a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees.

Peter BoxPeter Box
Non-Executive Director

Peter joined Family Investments in 2009 and was an audit and business advisory partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers, to a broad range of companies from large international businesses to specialist national firms in his 39-year career. In particular, through his focus on the insurance industry, he has developed a deep understanding of the major issues affecting the sector, and has significant experience of regulatory and governance matters.

Peter also serves as Vice Chairman and non-executive director of Marsh Limited, a non-executive director of Pool Reinsurance Company Limited and Cardif Pinnacle Insurance Holdings plc.

Peter is the Chairman of the Audit Committee, and a member of the Risk, With Profits and Nominations Committees.

Graham LindseyGraham Lindsay
Non-Executive Director

Graham joined the OneFamily Board in July 2016.

He held a number of senior executive roles at Lloyds Banking Group, before retiring after 40 years, including responsibility for the Lloyds branch network.

Graham has previously sat on the boards of the Institute of Financial Services and the Chartered Banker Professional Standards Board. He is currently Vice Chairman of the board of trustees of The Brain Tumour Charity and a non-executive director of Vista Ltd and the Wonga Group.

Steve Colsell
Non-Executive Director

Steve joined the OneFamily Board in July 2016.

His financial services career has spanned banking, insurance and mortgage lending, notably with Zurich Insurance, Lloyds Banking Group and Kensington Group.

Steve has been a non-executive director of St James’ Place and Esure Insurance, and is currently a non-executive director and Chairman of the Risk Committee at Starling Bank.

Executive directors

Simon MarkeySimon Markey
Chief Executive

Simon joined Family Investments in November 2012 as Chief Executive. Simon started his career at Lloyds Bank in 1984 where he remained for over 20 years and held numerous positions including Head of Savings and Director of Customer and Sales. Following Lloyds, Simon became Managing Director of Lifestyle Services Group Ltd and CEO of Consumer at Marsh Limited, before joining NBNK Investments PLC in 2011.

Teddy NyahashaTeddy Nyahasha
Chief Financial Officer

Teddy joined OneFamily in July 2016 as Chief Financial Officer. Teddy is a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years’ experience in Financial and Capital management in the insurance sector. His experience includes working at the FSA for a number of years, after which he joined Aviva Plc where he held several positions including Financial Director Emerging Markets in Europe. Before joining OneFamily he was at Royal London where he was Group Financial Controller.